Baxendale is a Golden Spikes Semifinalist

Arkansas Razorback pitcher DJ Baxendale was named as a semifinalist for the 2011 Golden Spikes Award.  There are 30 total semifinalists for the award. The Golden Spikes Award is given to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

DJ Baxendale - Photo Credit:

On June 7, those 30 finalists will be whittled down until there are only 3 remaining. On June 15 at 6pm on the MLB Network’s “MLB Tonight” program, the winner will be announced. Starting Tuesday June 7, fans and general public will be able to vote for their favorite by visiting

Baxendale is from Jacksonville, AR. He has been Arkansas’ ace pitcher this season and an All-SEC second team selection. Baxendale currently has a 9-2 record with a 1.75 ERA. Among the other pitchers in the SEC, Baxendale ranks 2nd in ERA and is tied for 5th in wins. In conference (SEC) play, Baxendale earned a 4-2 record with a 2.25 ERA. An interesting little fact, the 4 victories he has have come against teams that were selected for the NCAA Tournament and 3 of those 4 victories have come when the Hogs were facing Vanderbilt’s, Florida’s, and South Carolina’s respective Ace pitcher.

Below is the list of the 30 semifinalists for the award.

2011 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Semifinalists

Daniel Aldrich, OF, RS-Freshman, College of Charleston, SoCon

Tyler Anderson, LHP, Junior, Oregon, Pac-10
Matt Barnes, RHP, Junior, Connecticut, Big East
Trevor Bauer, RHP, Junior, UCLA, Pac-10
DJ Baxendale, RHP, Sophomore, Arkansas, SEC
CJ Cron, C/IF, Junior, Utah, Mountain West
Grayson Garvin, LHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Sam Gaviglio, RHP, Junior, Oregon State, Pac-10
Sean Gilmartin, LHP/OF, Junior, Florida State, ACC
Greg Gonzalez, RHP, Senior, Fresno State, WAC
Sonny Gray, RHP, Junior, Vanderbilt, SEC
Danny Hultzen, LHP/IF, Junior, Virgina, ACC
Taylor Jungmann, RHP, Junior, Texas, Big 12
Jason Krizan, OF, Senior, Dallas Baptist, Independant
Jake Lowery, C, Junior, James Madison, CAA
Mikie Mahtook, OF, Junior, LSU, SEC
Brad Miller, IF, Junior, Clemson, ACC
Chris O’Brien, C/IF, Junior, Wichita State, Missouri Valley
Joe Panik, IF, Junior, St. John’s, Big East
Mark Pope, RHP, Junior, Georgia Tech, ACC
Nick Ramirez, IF/LHP, Junior, Cal State-Fullerton, Big West
Antony Rendon, IF, Junior, Rice, C-USA
Victor Roache, OF, Sophomore, Georgia Southern, SoCon
Michael Rocha, RHP, Senior, Oklahoma, Big 12
Michael Roth, LHP/IF, Junior, South Carolina, SEC
George Springer, OF, Junior, Connecticut, Big East
Adam Brett Walker, IF/OF, Sophomore, Jacksonville, Atlantic Sun
Kyle Winkler, RHP, Junior, TCU, Mountain West
Mike Zunino, C, Sophomore, Florida, SEC
Chad Zurcher, IF, RS-Junior, Memphis, C-USA

Remember to stop by and vote for Arkansas RHP DJ Baxendale. He deserves this award!

Follow me on twitter: @IronHogFan

Article written by

Avid Hog Fan and sports buff!